Lollapalooza Detox

I border between being a social butterfly and being a hermit. Depending on the day and my mood, my Myers-Briggs personality type is either INFP or ENFP. Some days I love surrounding myself with lots and lots of people, while other days I’m more content with locking myself up in my room alone.

This weekend, I went to Lollapalooza Chicago, which is a summer tradition between my boyfriend, his sister, and myself. We treat it like a vacation where we don’t have to worry about our jobs and responsibilities while also being able to see great artists perform amazing music. This was our fourth Lolla, and it was just as great as it always has been! Sure, there was a torrential downpour on the first night that forced us all to evacuate, but we made the best of it and still had a great four day weekend.

After being surrounded by hundreds of thousands of people all cramped into Grant Park, I am ready to come back to reality and to take some time for myself to take a social detox. I’m coming from an ENFP long weekend into an INFP solitude. I’m ready to wake up without an alarm, alone in my bed; I’m ready to read quietly by the bay window in my living room as I sip on a latte and as my dog snores next to me; I’m ready to use all of the sheet masks I’ve hoarded so my skin can feel nourished and so I can feel complete.

There’s never anything wrong with taking some alone time. It’s important to remain balanced, which I never realized until after my bout of depression. My social butterfly side of the scale is outweighing my calm, cool, and relaxed side. It’s time for me to detox.

How do you keep your life balanced, and what’s your go-to detox whenever you need balance?

Stay zen friends!

Leave a Reply

